Some stages of writing a post on WordPress!

“This week is almost coming to an end, I have to think of something to post. But what should I write about? Maybe I should check The Daily Post for some ideas. But what is the point of posting? Who on the internet is actually interested to read what I think or what happened to me?” After thinking for some time a wild idea struck. “Well I should post about this, anyway”

These are just some initial stages of thoughts I go through before starting to write a post on WordPress. I’ve more than 50 drafts and only 20-22 published posts. All these drafts are my abandoned attempts to write. Most of the time after writing half or one-third of the post, I think that this is mess and is going nowhere and I’m  actually wasting my time then I sign out of WordPress.

I don’t know if you can relate but I think my urge to write increases by nights and disappear in the day. I published most of my posts (except one or two) in night time not because I’m busy during the day but because this is when I feel like writing. In fact it’s 3:43 AM when I’m writing this.

And if I manage to write something what I think is at least publishable I become over excited and put in wrong tags, categories and sometimes I don’t even cross read what I just wrote leaving typos, typos everywhere. And finally pushing the wonderful blue square button – publish.

And after publishing and Tweeting about the post I log out of WordPress and do something rather funny. I open a tab and open my blog post and start “refreshing”. LOL! Why refresh? To see the number of “likes” and the “hit counter” on the right.

Yeah, just sharing some of thoughts before and after publishing a post.

Thanks for reading the whole thing.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Some stages of writing a post on WordPress!

  1. Keep those drafts… I find that they will come into their own in time! All the best!!

  2. Rinth

    It’s not uncommon. Many people are most inspired at night, including me. I also feel most like writing in the evening or later at night if I’m awake :).

  3. I also write a lot of night … I think by then I am free of the day’s stress and is more relaxed. I also have some of those same issue and was thinking about ending my blogging career. Here is what i had to say about the subject
    http://marvalously.wordpress.com/2012/10/29/no-audience-i-am-wondering/
    I hope that by reading that you will see that they are others like you.

  4. I can relate to everything you said! Great post – glad I’m not alone 🙂

Leave a Reply

